African Wear

I hardly wear traditional (trad) clothes. I wear my trad at funerals or traditional weddings but never on just a random day. If I did, I would always feel like people were judging my outfit. However, in the ALA environment there is no such thing. African attire has become part of a global ‘fashion trend’. If you don’t find students in Senegalese pants, it’s teachers in Moroccan shoes. The interesting aspect of this is how these attires blend in with Western outfits. When students graduate and go their different ways, they post pictures of themselves wearing traditional outfits. Though this is a trend in ALA, everyone should try it out.

Share your picture of your best outfit with a spice of African Wear on Facebook and Instagram.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By Thato Seerane

Leave a comment